Citrus Fennel Salad

I recently ordered a bulb of fennel in my grocery order and was more than a little intimidated with the bulb that I received.  I had no idea they looked like that and was a little confused on how to attack it.  After watching a few instructional youtube videos I felt confident to make a little something with it.  When I first cracked into it, I was overcome with the delicious licorice scent and seriously spent a few minutes just smelling it.  One of my favourite salads is a combo of fennel and orange, but I also had some grapefruit on hand so I tried a little combo of the 3 with a few ingredients for the dressing and voila!  Super fresh and tasty, and a little bit pretty too 🙂

Citrus Fennel Salad

1 bulb of fennel

1 large orange

1 pink grapefruit

1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil

½ tbsp apple cider vinegar

1 tsp toasted sesame seeds

¼ tsp sea salt

¼ tsp cracked black pepper

1.  Cut off stalks of fennel (freeze and save for a soup stock if you like) and peel bulb.  Thinly slice either by hand or with a mandolin.  Cut orange and grapefruit into pieces.  Toss fennel, orange and grapefruit together

2.  In a small dish mix together olive oil, ac vinegar and sesame seeds.  Toss dressing in with the fennel mixture.  Sprinkle with salt and pepper.

Makes 4 servings

Per Serving:

Calories 90      Fat 4g      Carbs 13g      Protein 1.6g

One thought on “Citrus Fennel Salad

Leave a Reply

