Carrot Cake

I have a few loves in life, my son, my boyfriend, my dogs and carrot cake.  Seriously though, Carrot Cake would be at the top of the list as a part of my last meal…along with waffles, lasagna, poutine and a variety of other things that would put me into a food coma.  Although I have tried carrot cake from pretty much anywhere I could get my hands on it, I had never attempted to make it before….until now :).

Although I appreciate when carrot cake gets all “fancy”, I prefer a nice simple one with a good cream cheese icing which is what the recipe below gives.  I have also decreased the amount of sugar that usually resides in the cream cheese icing, because I feel it takes away from the richness that cream cheese has to offer.  Enjoy!

Carrot Cake

1 cup granulated sugar

1 cup canola or vegetable oil

3 eggs

½ tsp vanilla

1 1/3 cups all purpose flour

1½ tsp baking soda

1½ tsp baking powder

½ tsp salt

½ tsp nutmeg

1½ cinnamon

2 cups grated carrots

¾ cups walnut pieces

Cream Cheese Icing:

½ cup cream cheese (half a package)

¼ cup butter

1 tsp vanilla

1½ cups icing sugar

¼ cup walnut pieces

 

1.  Preheat oven to 350°.  In mixing bowl combine sugar and oil.  Beat in eggs one at a time and and vanilla.

2.  In another bowl mix flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt, cinnamon and nutmeg.

3.  Combine wet and dry ingredients.  Stir in grated carrot and ¾ cups walnut pieces.  Be careful not to overmix, just stir till everything is coated.  Pour mixture in a 9×13 pan and bake for 35 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean.  Cool cake on a wire rack.

4.  For icing: Beat cream cheese, butter and vanilla together using an electric hand mixer.  Gradually beat in icing sugar and beat till fluffy.  Spread onto a cooled cake and sprinkle ¼ cup walnut pieces over top.

 

 

 

One thought on “Carrot Cake

Leave a Reply

