Ginger Snaps

My Mom’s ginger snaps were the best, but I usually referred to them as Ginger Chews because they were so soft and would just melt in your mouth. I followed her recipe and the results were great! They were not quite my mom’s, but she had some sort of magic mom power….Maybe I’ll harness some of it the more mom like I become 🙂  Anyways, delicious, so try and enjoy!

Ginger Snaps

¾ cups butter – softened

1 cup granulated sugar

1 egg

½ cup molasses

2½ cups all purpose flour

½ tsp salt

2 tsp baking soda

2 tsp ginger

1 tsp cinnamon

approx. 2 tbsp granulated sugar

1.  Preheat oven to 350º. Cream butter and the 1 cup of sugar.  Beat in the egg, and stir in the molasses.

2.  In another bowl stir flour, salt, baking soda, ginger and cinnamon.  Add dry mixture to wet mixture, mix well.

3.  Roll into 1 inch balls.  Dip into remaining sugar and place on greased baking sheet. Bake for approximately 10 minutes.

Makes 6 dozen

2 thoughts on “Ginger Snaps

  1. Thanx for this amazingly delicious recipe Karina…..I’ve already added it to my cookie recipe collection and baked some today…Cheers and luv you!
    Auntie Maril

Leave a Reply

