Blueberry & Lemon Oat Bars

The blueberries in my backyard are still in full force, but there has been a recent battle with the crows on who gets to consume them.  So while the creepy crows were away, I snuck in to pick some.  Side note: Did you know crows  possess a human facial recognition ability?…creepy.

I decided I wanted to go the route of a blueberry oat bar, because I figured you can’t really go wrong with that combo.  I also wanted a little zing to these so I added in some lemon for a pop.

Watch out for this blueberry mixture….it stains…I really have to start wearing my apron. 

And Voila! These taste great just as they are, but I also really liked them after they had sat in the fridge for a little while 

Blueberry & Lemon Oat Bars

1½ cups all purpose flour

1¾ cups rolled oats

¾ cups packed brown sugar

½ tsp salt

½ tsp baking soda

¾ butter – cold and sliced

filling:

3 cups blueberries

1 lemon

2 tbsp cornstarch

½ cup granulated sugar

1.  Preheat oven to 375º.  In a bowl mix flour, oats, brown sugar, salt and baking soda.  Cut in butter and mix till crumbly.  Set aside 2 cups of mixture for topping.  Take remainder and press into a greased 9×13 pan.

2.  In a saucepan, stir in blueberries, juice of the lemon, cornstarch, and granulated sugar.  Bring to a boil and then simmer for a couple of minutes, stirring constantly.  Spread blueberry mixture over the crust in pan.  Then sprinkle remaining crumble mixture over top and lightly press into blueberry layer.

3.  Bake 25-30 mins or until golden brown.  Let them cool in pan before cutting into.

Makes about 24

Per Serving

Calories 130      Fat 6g      Carbs 18g      Protein 1.5g

5 thoughts on “Blueberry & Lemon Oat Bars

  1. Hey there!! These bars are great!! Sweet and tangy at the same time! I think I will try your carrot muffins next……

Leave a Reply

