Apple Loaf

I have been meaning to try out a dessert loaf for a while now, as I used to make them when I was younger but it has been quite sometime.  I received a ton of delicious apples from a BC orchard in my harvest box this week, so I decided to make this the featured fruit of my comeback loaf.  I’m not a fan of dry and crumbly cakes, so I made this version nice and moist and it was pretty gosh darn delicious.

 I had to send Richard to work with the remainder after I had a couple of pieces out of fear that I would eat the entire thing.


Apple Loaf

1½ cups flour

1tsp cinnamon

1 tsp baking soda

¼ cup brown sugar

½ cup granulated sugar

2 large apples (or 4 small) – peeled and grated

½ cup vegetable oil

2 eggs – beaten

1.  Preheat oven to 350º.  Mix all the dry ingredients in a bowl.  In a separate bowl mix the remaining ingredients.

2. Make a well in the center of the dry ingredients and add wet ingredients.  Mix well.

3.  Pour mixture into a greased loaf pan.  Bake for 50 mins, or until toothpick comes out clean.

Makes approximately 12 servings

Per Serving:

Calories 157      Fat 4g       Carbs 28g      Protein 3g

Leave a Reply

