Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

Alright, so I revisited oatmeal cookies. After the last debacle I was apprehensive, but I was determined to get them right as they were my favourite style of cookie that my mom made. Raisins were used instead of chocolate chips this time as Richard hates chocolate (crazy I know). One thing I did different this time, other than totally mess up the butter and flour ratio ;), is made the balls/drops a lot smaller as I found that oatmeal cookies really spread out when baking.  The recipe I used is a Grandma Linda original, right off the index card 🙂

Good so far…..

Success!!! And so very good!

 

 

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

¾ cup butter, softened

¾ cup brown sugar

½ cup white sugar

1 egg

2 tbsp water

2 tsp vanilla

1 cup flour

¾ tsp baking soda

1 tsp cinnamon

3 cups rolled oats

1½ cup raisins

 

1.  Cream butter, brown sugar and white sugar together.  Beat in egg, water and vanilla.

2.  In a separate bowl mix together flour, baking soda and cinnamon.  Stir  2 mixtures in together.

3.  Add rolled oats and raisins into mixture.

4.  Roll into small balls and place on a greased cookie sheet.  Bake at 350º for about 12-15 minutes.

Makes about 4 dozen

Leave a Reply

