Italian Breadcrumbs

I wanted to make Chicken Parmesan, but age of the breadcrumbs that were in my pantry was questionable. What I did have was some whole wheat hamburger buns, so I thought I would try making my own and see what happened. I always love playing with my food processor anyways ūüôā

So I cut them up into cubes and popped them in the oven.

Then tossed them in the food processor with some seasoning and ground them up. ¬†Super easy! I won’t be buying breadcrumbs anymore.

Italian Breadcrumbs

3 slices whole wheat  bread (or the equivalent of another bread product)

1 tsp garlic powder

1 tsp dried parsley

1 tsp dried basil

1 tsp dried oregano

1. ¬†Cut bread into cubes and place on a cookie sheet. ¬†Bake at 300¬į for about 10 minutes.

2. Place bread cubes and remaining ingredients into food processor and blend to the texture that you would like.

3.  Store in refrigerator to keep fresh.

Per batch:

Calories 204      Fat 3g      Carbs 37g      Protein 6.5

Leave a Reply

