The Last 10 Pounds

The extra pounds that accompany this journey of pregnancy and motherhood are starting to weigh a little heavy (haha) on me.  During my pregnancy I was told that I should ideally gain between 25-35 pounds, which I kept right on track with until the very tail end of my third trimester.  I exploded and was rapidly gaining towards the end, I retained every bit of water that entered my body and my shoe size even went up 2 sizes.  I ended up gaining 44 pounds, which isn’t horrible, but it certainly ensures that some extra super stubborn poundage is left hanging on for dear life.

Ryker is just over 7 months and I have lost 35 of those pounds, which is good and I am trying not to be too hard on myself…but I am female and that is hard to do.  Every once in a while I really have to get grounded, focus and remind myself that I did have a baby.

The one good thing is that I can carry extra weight well.  I am a very curvy girl so it goes to the “assets”, but the “assets” are really wanting to fit back into my favourite jeans.  So here I am trying to figure out the best way to do this because I am breastfeeding so I do have to consume a certain amount of calories in day to produce the proper nutrition for my boy, which over all of this is of the utmost importance.  So that rules out any “1000 calorie a day” diets.  I actually did try Weight Watchers for a couple of months because they have a breastfeeding friendly plan for new moms, but I really didn’t lose anything on it.  Truthfully, Weight Watchers said I needed 44 points a day and you have points plus on top of that and I really felt that it was allowing me too much.  I have a small home gym set up that I have really been trying to use but it has been a bit challenging to get a full workout in with Ryker.  Sometimes he lets me get a full workout in and sometimes he doesn’t.  I debated joining one of those mommy-baby workout groups, but I just don’t think I can bring myself to do it.  My experiences with moms in this city (with the exception of my lovely friends) is that they are fairly competitive and all conversation steers towards some sort of competitive yuppy bullshit that I just don’t have the patience for.  So a group setting that is focusing on image….I just can’t do it, I am too cynical for it.

These of course are all excuses, I am the queen of those! I will justify the reason why I can’t exercise and I will justify why I needed to eat that bag of potato chips.

So this is my new approach, motivation from fear of humiliation for not achieving my goal.  I am making it public that I am currently 145 pounds, by my 30th birthday on September 17th, I want to have lost 10-15 pounds.  It will most likely be the first time going out since I had Ryker as I still haven’t done so yet and ideally I want to get myself into a sexy Herve Leger birthday dress.  So here we go, it is recorded and dated on the blog so hopefully that will be the kick in the pants that I need.

Leave a Reply

