Homemade BBQ Sauce

Making my own bbq sauce definitely got me nervous at first, but I ended up being super pleased with the results.  What also got me so excited is that I can totally see that just by tweaking a few ingredients here and there, that you could potentially create tons of different flavours.  For my first go at it I used a mesquite liquid smoke and my result was smoky, sweet, tangy goodness.


I tossed them with my Oven Baked Crispy Chicken Wings which turned out to be a delicious combo.

Homemade BBQ Sauce

1 cup ketchup

2 tbsp brown sugar

2 tbsp vinegar

1 tbsp worcestershire sauce

1 tbsp lemon juice

1 clove garlic, minced

1 tbsp syrup

1 tsp paprika

few drops of liquid smoke

1. Mix all ingredients into a sauce pan and simmer on low for 20 mins.

2. Put into a container (preferably glass) and refrigerate overnight.  *Can be used right away, but it tastes better if left overnight

Per 1 Tbsp:

Calories 20      Fat 0g      Carbs 5g      Protein 0g

Leave a Reply

